HEAR: The Griswolds – “If You Wanna Stay”

the griswolds, if you wanna stay
If You Wanna Stay,” the latest single from Australian band The Griswolds, is impacting Alternative Radio with early adds at nine stations including SiriusXM Alt Nation, where it debuted this week at #18 on the Alt18. Listen to the track here:

“If You Wanna Stay” is the follow up to the band’s top 15 debut single “Beware the Dog,” which has approximately six million worldwide streams, was featured as #4 on Billboard’s “Year in Music: The 10 Best Rock & Alternative Singles” of 2014,  #28 in the Triple J Hottest 100 list and #5 on the SiriusXM Alt Nation’s Alt 36 end of year countdown, featuring the best 36 songs of 2014.
The band continues to celebrate their debut LP Be Impressive, out now on Wind-up Records. The album, produced by Tony Hoffer (Beck, Foster the People, M83), was released in August to immediate acclaim with Vice’s Noisey blog hailing the music as “hypnotic and brilliantly balearic,” and Paste saying they’re “on track to make a splash with their catchy, rock-infused pop sound.” The New York Observer also chose Be Impressive as one of the “10 Best Debut Albums of 2014.”
Furthermore, The Griswolds are set to embark on a massive nationwide tour with Walk the Moon this spring. The tour will begin in San Diego and take the band across the country, stopping at Terminal 5 in New York City as well as at the 9:30 Club in Washington D.C. The dates follow a year of relentless touring for the band including their largest headline run in Australia. Watch the live video from their summer tour streaming at HitFix and see below for routing details.
The Griswolds was born at a Sydney house party where Whitehall challenged friend Daniel Duque-Perez (guitar/synth) to write a riff on the spot. Duque-Perez explained, “Chris thought that riff was really fun and interesting, and it turned into our first single, ‘Mississippi.’” After an EP and forays to the U.K. and U.S., the band—Whitehall, Duque-Perez, Tim John (bass) and Lachlan West (drums)—were itching to record a full-length and signed with American super-indie Wind-Up Records. “You only get to make one debut album,” says Duque-Perez, “and we wanted to make ours as impressive as we possibly could. Working hard and late nights mean nothing when you’re working on something you love. So ‘be impressive’ became something we thought about all the time.”
1. 16 Years
2. Right on Track
3. Beware the Dog
4. If You Wanna Stay
5. Down and Out
6. Be Impressive
7. Live This Nightmare
8. America
9. Thread the Needle
10. Aurora Borealis
11. Not Ready Anymore
Share Button

Leave a Comment

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.