Black Keys Dan Auerbach Producers Hanni El Khatib’s “Penny”

After sharing the blistering first single from his new album Head In the Dirt, Hanni El Khatib is back to share “Penny,” the Dan Auerbach-produced album’s second single. Where lead single “Family” (and its accompanying video) was all shredding rock and roll debauchery, “Penny” finds Hanni mining a sweeter, pop-ready sound that would feel like the perfect soundtrack to a barbecue or pool party. Recalling the song’s genesis, Hanni said:

“The bass line for ‘Penny’ was this thing I’d play bored at soundcheck forever, and eventually tried to turn it into a song. It was also the first track that we recorded for the new album. For whatever reason, we managed to record all the live parts in one take and the rest fell into place soon after. It definitely set the tone for the rest of the recordings.”


APRIL 30, 2013

1. Head In The Dirt
2. Family
3. Skinny Little Girl
4. Penny
5. Nobody Move
6. Can’t Win ‘Em All
7. Pay No Mind
8. Save Me
9. Low
10.Sinking In The Sand
11. House On Fire

Share Button

Leave a Comment

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.